Welcome to gadgetPool.de!
gadgetPool
Homepage
Projekt veröffentlichen
Artikel schreiben
Projekte lesen
Artikel lesen
Forum
Diskussionen Ideen Vorschläge
Downloads
Treiber Dateien Datenblätter
Anmeldung
Passwort Mail Einstellungen

     Menue
WebShop
Hier gibt's die gadgets

     Languages
Sprache für das Interface auswählen

English German

     Login
Benutzername

Passwort

Kostenlos registrieren!. Gestalten Sie Ihr eigenes Erscheinungsbild. Passen Sie das Seitenlayout Ihren Wünschen an

gadgetPool.de: Forum

gadgetPool.de :: View topic - [English] Windows driver installation
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log inLog in 

[English] Windows driver installation

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    gadgetPool.de Forum Index -> Nmea Multiplexer with SeaTalk I/O
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 419
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 1:31 pm    Post subject: [English] Windows driver installation Reply with quote

One user of the Multiplexer had problems with installing the USB driver on a Windows-7 system.

After some investigations he found a solution.
It appears as if some of the FTDI-USB Chips is detected with a mismatch in the internal eeprom settings and driver file.

This problem apparently is only with his multiplexer - or with this special multiplexer/notebook combination.

I myself, and the other users of the multiplexer, had no problem installing the driver, but this users chip appears to have different settings, or is somehow recognized as a different device.

We are using the USB port to flash the original firmware to the multiplexer
and we also do our production checks and tests with the USB port.
So - on our computers, the device must have been detected properly.
Otherwise we wouldn't have been able to flash the firmware and to make our production tests.
So I guess, it must have been either a problem with the combination FTDI chip vs. this notebook, or it could have been something with other drivers software already installed on the computer.

Anyway - In the future we will check every multiplexer for proper settings again.

If you should have received a multiplexer and have problems with the driver installation - please let us know. We'll send an updated driver file.

Here is the original mail :

Quote:

Searched the net for help and found some troubleshooting help on ftdichip.com. They suggested that it could be a mismatch in the VID or PID between the EEPROM and driver inf-file.
I checked that and found the VID in the EEPROM to be 0401 and the inf-file to be 0403. Then I changed the inf-file to 0401 - updated the drivers and all seems to be working well.


Thanks to Terje Adolfsen for finding and fixing this problem and for providing this information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Happy_Future
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Jun 05, 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I have the same trouble. It's impossible to install drivers.
My notebook is a samsung with windows7.
Can you send me new drivers ?

PS : excuse me for my english, I speak a little bit. Do you speak french ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 419
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Can you send me new drivers ?

Yes I will.

Quote:
excuse me for my english, I speak a little bit. Do you speak french ?


No worries. We can understand each other Smile
Sorry - I don't speak any french.

Question :
When you look in the system manager - could you tell me if you
ysytem see's the multiplexer as VID 0401 as it happened with Terje Adolfsen ?
If you could check this, it would help a lot.
I still don't realy understand, why the I don't have a problem with the drivers on my Win-7 system, and apparently some notebooks do have this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Happy_Future
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Jun 05, 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked system manager but nothing new appear ! Crying or Very sad

I had intall the drivers from http://www.ftdichip.com, but I havn't new port com.

I don't understand what append
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 419
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All right,

Quote:
I checked system manager but nothing new appear

Nothing new ? What does appear ?

When you open the systemmanager you should see something like this



You should see something with USB that has a yellow mark.
At the yellow USB Serial Port make a LEFT-CLICK and select PROPERTIES

You yould see a window like this



Select DETAILS and in that windows select HARDWARE-ID

On my Computer it say's

VID_0403 and PID_6001

What does it say on your Computer ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 419
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your ID is 0401 instead of 0403, I've made a driver for this "Ftdi 0401 Cip " . You can download it !!! H E R E !!!

Get the zip file, save it on your computer and unzip it.

It will create a new direcroy.

Update the driver.

When windows asks where to find the driver,
point it to the directory from the zip file.

And another Info :
A manual for driver installation on Windows7 can be found HERE at the FTDI Web pages
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Happy_Future
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Jun 05, 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No I have really nothing in my system manager


I'm very sad it's not working. Help me, please
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 419
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sir - honestly. I'll do the best I can to help.
If you can't get it to work, of course you have the option to send it back.

Before we do that - a few more ideas / questions to try :

- Do you have 12 Volt power supply connected to the multiplexer ?
Is the 12 Volt power supply connected correctly ?
The multiplexer will only work, if it is supplied with 12 Volt power.

- Do you have access to another computer, where you could plug in the multiplexer ?

- In the tab - controleurs de USB - if you open this - is there anythong in it ?
- In the other tab's - is there anything ?

Best regards
Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Happy_Future
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Jun 05, 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your ideas.
Of course, I have the 12v power supply.
I have anything in other tabs.
Yes, I will test on another computer tomorow, it's a good idea !

I will tell you the result.

So thanks a lot for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 419
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok.... waiting for your results ...
Apparently this is not a driver problem,but a general hardware problem.
This pc does not see anything on it's USB port, when the multiplexer is plugged in.
I'll have to wait for the results with the test on another pc.

Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 419
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just an Info for other users who might be reading this thread.
The problem Happy_Future had, was caused by a faulty hardware.
The hardware has been fixed - the multiplexer and driver problem is working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ScottR
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Sep 19, 2011
Posts: 2
Location: Seattle WA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 10:00 pm    Post subject: which driver for Windows 7? Reply with quote

It is not clear what driver I should use.

I misplaced the CD (with driver?) so let windows auto install a driver after detecting multiplexer. Now I see the instructions say not to do this. OOps :-p

The driver set itself to COM 6. (I also have a USB to Serial interface I use sometimes) I used another program to redirect to COM 1 but am not getting anything in the configuration program.

Could not locate custom driver in Downloads area.

Please send driver if I need a specific one. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 419
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Please send driver if I need a specific one.


We don't have a special driver.
It's a standard FTDi chip and we use the standard FTDI USB serial driver.

You can use the standard driver available on the FTDI Website CLICK HERE

Quote:
The driver set itself to COM 6. (I also have a USB to Serial interface I use sometimes) I used another program to redirect to COM 1 but am not getting anything in the configuration program.


I'm not sure I full understand.
Does this mean, the driver detects the multiplexer and creates a COM6 ?
I don't know this redirection program for redirecting it to COM1.

When you plug in the multiplexer, does Windows create a new com port ( i.e. COM6 ).

If yes - If you select this newly created com port in the configuration software, does the config software "see" the multiplexer ?

Regards
Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ScottR
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Sep 19, 2011
Posts: 2
Location: Seattle WA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Frank,

I was confused when I only saw COM1-COM4 in the setup program. I did not realize I could manually enter COM6.

After remembering to set the USB to 38400 everything seems to be working great.

Can't wait to get it in the boat.

Thanks,
Scott
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 419
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All right. Good to hear it's working.

The multiplexer comes with an older software version.
This older version only reads SeaTalk data.
If you like to send data to your SeaTalk network, or if you could use some of the new functions - the is a firmewareupdate available.

You can find it H E R E

Now and than I'll put the latest firmware version and config tool version on the server.

In the next release we will have true wind heading and speed.


Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    gadgetPool.de Forum Index -> Nmea Multiplexer with SeaTalk I/O All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.0.7 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.7 standalone was developed and tested by:
ChatServ, mikem,
and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.0.7 by Nuke Cops © 2004 http://www.nukecops.com
Forums ©




All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2006-2015 by gadgetPool.


PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Erstellung der Seite: 0.06 Sekunden