Welcome to gadgetPool.de!
gadgetPool
Homepage
Projekt veröffentlichen
Artikel schreiben
Projekte lesen
Artikel lesen
Forum
Diskussionen Ideen Vorschläge
Downloads
Treiber Dateien Datenblätter
Anmeldung
Passwort Mail Einstellungen

     Menue
WebShop
Hier gibt's die gadgets

     Languages
Sprache für das Interface auswählen

English German

     Login
Benutzername

Passwort

Kostenlos registrieren!. Gestalten Sie Ihr eigenes Erscheinungsbild. Passen Sie das Seitenlayout Ihren Wünschen an

gadgetPool.de: Forum

gadgetPool.de :: View topic - Multiple bridges on the same ST-Bus?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log inLog in 

Multiple bridges on the same ST-Bus?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    gadgetPool.de Forum Index -> Seatalk NMEA Bridge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sailormax
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Apr 11, 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 4:18 pm    Post subject: Multiple bridges on the same ST-Bus? Reply with quote

Hi,

for use on my boat I want to connect two bridges on the ST-side together with a Ray E80 Shocked

It should look like this:
Code:

    Ray E80    <-- ST --> Bridge 1 <-- ST --> Bridge 2
        |                    |                 |
     Easy-AIS               Log               GPS
     Heading               Wind

Is it possible or must I use one bride and one NMEA-multiplexer?


Best regards from german Northsea coast

Max
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 419
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi sailormax,

sorry for the delay. I somehow simply missed this posting.

The answer is : You can have two bridges.


Idea 1
Code:

SeaTalk Bus   ----------------------------------------------------
                       |                         |               |
                   BRIDGE                      BRIDGE        Ray E80
                       |                         |
                     GPS                     Log/Wind




Most NMEA Devices habe a NMEA-IN and NMEA-OUT
So it might be possible to daisy chain your NMEA devices.
Idea 2
Code:

SeaTalk Bus   ----------------------------------------------------
                     |                                 |
                   BRIDGE                            Ray E80
NMEA                  |   
                   Log/Wind
NMEA                  |                           
                     GPS                 



I asume, your GPS and your Log/Wind is all NMEA ? Right ?

Idea 3
As far as I know, the E80 also has a NMEA Input.
So you could even wire everything with NMEA - not using SeaTalk at all.

Best regards
Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sailormax
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Apr 11, 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWallenwein wrote:
Hi sailormax,

sorry for the delay. I somehow simply missed this posting.

The answer is : You can have two bridges.


Doesn't matter, the boat is on tour now, so I can't change anything in the moment. But next winter is coming Wink
OK, thats it!

Quote:

Most NMEA Devices habe a NMEA-IN and NMEA-OUT
So it might be possible to daisy chain your NMEA devices.
Idea 2
Code:

SeaTalk Bus   ----------------------------------------------------
                     |                                 |
                   BRIDGE                            Ray E80
NMEA                  |   
                   Log/Wind
NMEA                  |                           
                     GPS                 




No chance! The wind/log are built by Navman and they have a NAVBUS and NMEA-out - but no NMEA-in ... Sad

The GPS ist from Northstar and it is (regularly) only connected to the Northstar M84. But I had split up the line an take the NMEA-information from GPS out for the VHF to get the GPS-information without the plotter in use. There is a (NMEA?) connection from the plotter to GPS, but I won't like to cut it off and send log/wind-information to gps. I'm not sure what will happen on this way.

The wind/log are connected to the plotter via NAVBUS (2 wires), the AIS/compass information goes to M84 via HSNMEA, but no heading goes out from M84. O-sound Northstar: "The plotter supports sending VHW but is not designed to send the heading information."
F*** standards!

Quote:

Idea 3
As far as I know, the E80 also has a NMEA Input.


which one should be used by the AIS/compass-data ...

Quote:

So you could even wire everything with NMEA - not using SeaTalk at all.


Of course I could use the complete NMEA-bus, but then I have to use a hispeed-multiplexer for the AIS-information.

The other way I tried was to use a moxa-server, because the E80 has also a RayNet (propietary ethernet). But I don't know which UDP-Port is used by raymarine and they don't give me any information. F***

Best regards
Max
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 419
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well - the disadvantage of using SeaTalk instead of pure NMEA is, you're loosing information. The Bridges don't translate everything.

I don't know what data you need - but the bridge will not translate i.e. Routes, Satelite status etc.

We should check, if the bridges translate all the data you need to be sent from Log,Lot,GPS to your E80.

Br
Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    gadgetPool.de Forum Index -> Seatalk NMEA Bridge All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.0.7 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.7 standalone was developed and tested by:
ChatServ, mikem,
and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.0.7 by Nuke Cops © 2004 http://www.nukecops.com
Forums ©




All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2006-2015 by gadgetPool.


PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Erstellung der Seite: 0.08 Sekunden