Welcome to gadgetPool.de!
gadgetPool
Homepage
Projekt veröffentlichen
Artikel schreiben
Projekte lesen
Artikel lesen
Forum
Diskussionen Ideen Vorschläge
Downloads
Treiber Dateien Datenblätter
Anmeldung
Passwort Mail Einstellungen

     Menue
WebShop
Hier gibt's die gadgets

     Languages
Sprache für das Interface auswählen

English German

     Login
Benutzername

Passwort

Kostenlos registrieren!. Gestalten Sie Ihr eigenes Erscheinungsbild. Passen Sie das Seitenlayout Ihren Wünschen an

gadgetPool.de: Forum

gadgetPool.de :: View topic - Use bridge to connect NMEA sensors with ST40 displays
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log inLog in 

Use bridge to connect NMEA sensors with ST40 displays

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    gadgetPool.de Forum Index -> Seatalk NMEA Bridge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JPD
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Jul 19, 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 2:22 pm    Post subject: Use bridge to connect NMEA sensors with ST40 displays Reply with quote

Hi,

Recently bought the v3.5 bridge, and currently I'm testing it a little.

I want to use the bridge, to connect serveral NMEA devices with Raymarine ST40 displays.

I managed to connect an Autonic NMEA wind masthead unit with the ST40 wind display using the gadgetpool bridge.

Later I will also connect an VDO logspeed/paddlewheel, and VDO depthsounder, using an Actisens DST-2 unit to convert the signal to NMEA 0183, and I will connect an Evermore SA-920 GPS unit.

I have the ST40 depth / speed / compass / 2x wind display's mounted on a removable dashboard, and the only thing feeding this dashboard is the seatalkcable, just unplug it, and the whole dashboard can be dismounted.

First I tried to use a Raymarine E85001 for this purpose, but this thing was rubbish, the buildquality was really bad and the functions very limited. The charm of the gadgetpools bridge is the function to use GPS course to feed the ST40 compass display, and to use GPS speed to feed the ST40 speed display, this means you do not have to buy or install a fluxgate compass neither a paddlewheel.

So far all seems to work fine in my test setup, I just have to mount it to the actual boat.

I will place pictures when everything is fitted and working. ( before august 2013 Smile )

chears,
JPD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 419
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi JPD,
thanks for your report - and thanks for the tip with the wind unit.
Meanwhile I also got one and will test it.
See here.
If you should have a report or any pictures for our users - would be great.

Cheers Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JPD
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Jul 19, 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again,

Just been sailing for 3 weeks, using the bridge and the ST40 displays.
Everything works great.

I promised some pictures, but forgot to make some of the installed bridge, will do that very soon.

Here is de working set of displays, LOGspeed is actually the GPS speed, and heading is actually the GPS heading, true wind is also shown correct, al thanks to the bridge.

I Use a shipmodule multiplexer, which makes it easy to sent NMEA / commands to the bridge, but I see the new gadgetpool bridge has a USB port and software comming with it, which is awesome !.

the working displays :



I use a standard 3 string 1,5 mm2 cable and weipu SP13 IP68 connectors to feed the displays, the console/dashboard can be removed very fast and easy. ( the woodwork is not the final console, just a fast setup for the holliday Wink )

regards,
JPD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JPD
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Jul 19, 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

an simplified schema of my working setup :



Next will be, building a true heading sensor with NMEA output, to feed the ST40 compass display with a better heading, then I will connect my Simrad TP20 tillerpilot to the Multiplexer.

Maybe I'll swap the DST-2 with an new depth transducer with NMEA output next year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    gadgetPool.de Forum Index -> Seatalk NMEA Bridge All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.0.7 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.7 standalone was developed and tested by:
ChatServ, mikem,
and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.0.7 by Nuke Cops © 2004 http://www.nukecops.com
Forums ©




All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2006-2015 by gadgetPool.


PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Erstellung der Seite: 0.05 Sekunden