Welcome to gadgetPool.de!
gadgetPool
Homepage
Projekt veröffentlichen
Artikel schreiben
Projekte lesen
Artikel lesen
Forum
Diskussionen Ideen Vorschläge
Downloads
Treiber Dateien Datenblätter
Anmeldung
Passwort Mail Einstellungen

     Menue
WebShop
Hier gibt's die gadgets

     Languages
Sprache für das Interface auswählen

English German

     Login
Benutzername

Passwort

Kostenlos registrieren!. Gestalten Sie Ihr eigenes Erscheinungsbild. Passen Sie das Seitenlayout Ihren Wünschen an

gadgetPool.de: Forum

gadgetPool.de :: View topic - Multiplexer box ( jumping mouse problem )
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log inLog in 

Multiplexer box ( jumping mouse problem )

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    gadgetPool.de Forum Index -> Nmea Multiplexer with SeaTalk I/O
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dolphin
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: May 10, 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2013 1:18 pm    Post subject: Multiplexer box ( jumping mouse problem ) Reply with quote

I have a problem with my Multiplexer. I have an Raymarine NMEa/seatalk box med seatalk in - and in the computer with r232. Then I get alle the data on Open-Cpn. Now i bought a multiplexer box. When I set seatalk to this box and USB kabel to computer I dont get GPS-data on Open-Cpn. Deept and vind is showing but with uncorrect data. The NMEA-log show that the port is open and the data is showing, but not on my Open-CPN. what can I have done wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Dolphin,

as you wrote me in a private mail, you also have your mouse cursor jumping arroud on your screen, when you connect to multipelxer.

MS-Windows erroneously regards the multiplexer as a pointing device and does not send the data to openCPN propperly, but uses the data to move the cursor.

This is a well known problem to Microsft windows and GPS devices. If you type "GPS jumping mouse" in google, you will find lot's of useres having this problem.

There are videos with a solution for this problem with jumping mouse on Windows XP / 7 and OpenCpn.


in the WIn-XP video they use the "Com-Disable-Tool" from Microsoft.
You can find this under

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/819036/en-us


I hope this will help you.
Please let me know, if it solves your problem or if I should look for solutions. If you don't have YouTube for some reason, please let me know.

Thanks and best regards
Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dolphin
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: May 10, 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWallenwein wrote:
Hello Dolphin,

as you wrote me in a private mail, you also have your mouse cursor jumping arroud on your screen, when you connect to multipelxer.

MS-Windows erroneously regards the multiplexer as a pointing device and does not send the data to openCPN propperly, but uses the data to move the cursor.

This is a well known problem to Microsft windows and GPS devices. If you type "GPS jumping mouse" in google, you will find lot's of useres having this problem.

There are videos with a solution for this problem with jumping mouse on Windows XP / 7 and OpenCpn.


in the WIn-XP video they use the "Com-Disable-Tool" from Microsoft.
You can find this under

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/819036/en-us


I hope this will help you.
Please let me know, if it solves your problem or if I should look for solutions. If you don't have YouTube for some reason, please let me know.

Thanks and best regards
Frank


Hello Frank

Thanks for your reply - but the jumping mouse was not the real problem.
There no GPS-signal in my Open CPN . The deept og wind is showing but incorrect data. The NMEA config. shows there ar signal on the box - but it does send til data to Open CPN. My old Raymarin box - via an convector send all data correct to Open CPN. Could the multiplexer box been broken?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Dolphin,

I thought the Jumping-Mouse problem could have caused this.
You wrote : The deept og wind is showing but incorrect data

So I thought the mouse driver might somehow influence the data coming in. That's why I concentrated on the jumping mouse problem.


Of course it is possible, that the muxer has a problem.
If we don't find out fast what's wrong, I will - of course - be happy to check it.
But I personally think it's very very unlikely.
If it didn't send anything or totally wrong NMEA sentences..... but it send's an obviously valid depth and a valid wind sentence ....

When openCpn recognizes the sentence as Wind/Depth data, the muxer must have sent a reasonable valid sentence. It must send something that starts with $, then the device ID ( II ) than the sentence ID ( i.e. DBT ) than some data seperated by ",", than a '*', than a valid checksum, than <CR><LF>. All that must be ok, if openCPN recognizes it as a depth sentence at all - in order to display any data at all - even if the data are wrong.

My Question :
Is there any way to make a logging of incoming data in OpenCPN and show this logging here. I would like to have a look at the sentences the muxer is sending.

Again - no worries. If we don't find out, of course I'll check the muxer or exchange it.

Thank you
and best regards
Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dolphin
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: May 10, 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWallenwein wrote:
Hello Dolphin,

I thought the Jumping-Mouse problem could have caused this.
You wrote : The deept og wind is showing but incorrect data

So I thought the mouse driver might somehow influence the data coming in. That's why I concentrated on the jumping mouse problem.


Of course it is possible, that the muxer has a problem.
If we don't find out fast what's wrong, I will - of course - be happy to check it.
But I personally think it's very very unlikely.
If it didn't send anything or totally wrong NMEA sentences..... but it send's an obviously valid depth and a valid wind sentence ....

When openCpn recognizes the sentence as Wind/Depth data, the muxer must have sent a reasonable valid sentence. It must send something that starts with $, then the device ID ( II ) than the sentence ID ( i.e. DBT ) than some data seperated by ",", than a '*', than a valid checksum, than <CR><LF>. All that must be ok, if openCPN recognizes it as a depth sentence at all - in order to display any data at all - even if the data are wrong.

My Question :
Is there any way to make a logging of incoming data in OpenCPN and show this logging here. I would like to have a look at the sentences the muxer is sending.

Again - no worries. If we don't find out, of course I'll check the muxer or exchange it.

Thank you
and best regards
Frank


Hello Frank

Thank again. We dont be at the boat again before friday. We will check this and then get back to you.
Best regards
Dolphin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All right.
Unfortunately, I'll be away ( sailing ) from next saturday for two weeks.
I hope we have internet now and than in the ports.
So - it might be, that it takes some time before I can answer.
Best regards
Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dolphin
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: May 10, 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWallenwein wrote:
All right.
Unfortunately, I'll be away ( sailing ) from next saturday for two weeks.
I hope we have internet now and than in the ports.
So - it might be, that it takes some time before I can answer.
Best regards


Frank


Hi Frank

Now I could send you the picture of the log. The first fil show the Raymarin box - and the other one the Multiplexer. I think the box dont convert the data from Seatalk to NMEA.
What do you think?



[URL=http://s968.photobucket.com/user/danamatic/media/sstralkinopencpn.jpg.html][IMG


Best regards
Dolphin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again. I'm still here. I'll leave tomorrow morning.

All right -
on your Multiplexer this special $STALK sentence is switched on.
I don't know why - but ovioulsly it is switched on.

This should be switched on only for special configurations or for seatalk network testing. Normally it should be OFF

With your Multiplexer, you have received a CD with a configruation program on it. ( Called StConfig.exe )

Open that program :



Click on "Port->Parameter"



Select Com8 and 38400 Baud, than click OK

Next click on "Port->Connect"



The program will read some configurations.
When is is ready, click on "SeaTalk Raw Output" twice , so that you see

$SNBSE,0,0 on the last line.



Now the $STALK sentence should be switch off and you should see NMEA data like you've seen it from the raymarine box.


!!!!! Please also make sure, that your OpenCPN does
not echo back everything it receives.


Otherwise - if you would like to use a terminal progam (like hyperterm)
for configuration ->
Open that program
connect it to the multiplexer ( COM8, 38400 Baud, 8 Bit, no parity, 1 stop bit. )

Type

$SNBSE,0,0 and press enter.

Now this $STALK sentences should disappear as well.



Regards
Frank

btw. When I'm back, we should update your multiplexer to the latest Software......

You can find a ZIP package containing the new firmware and config tool
in our download section or just click HERE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dolphin
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: May 10, 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWallenwein wrote:
Hi again. I'm still here. I'll leave tomorrow morning.

All right -
on your Multiplexer this special $STALK sentence is switched on.
I don't know why - but ovioulsly it is switched on.

This should be switched on only for special configurations or for seatalk network testing. Normally it should be OFF

With your Multiplexer, you have received a CD with a configruation program on it. ( Called StConfig.exe )

Open that program :



Click on "Port->Parameter"



Select Com8 and 38400 Baud, than click OK

Next click on "Port->Connect"



The program will read some configurations.
When is is ready, click on "SeaTalk Raw Output" twice , so that you see

$SNBSE,0,0 on the last line.



Now the $STALK sentence should be switch off and you should see NMEA data like you've seen it from the raymarine box.


!!!!! Please also make sure, that your OpenCPN does
not echo back everything it receives.


Otherwise - if you would like to use a terminal progam (like hyperterm)
for configuration ->
Open that program
connect it to the multiplexer ( COM8, 38400 Baud, 8 Bit, no parity, 1 stop bit. )

Type

$SNBSE,0,0 and press enter.

Now this $STALK sentences should disappear as well.



Regards
Frank

btw. When I'm back, we should update your multiplexer to the latest Software......

You can find a ZIP package containing the new firmware and config tool
in our download section or just click HERE.


Hi Frank

I have now done everything you vrite. An it is right that the Stalk sentence disappear - but now there is nothing in the debug box on Open Cpn. I now think the box has fail - we have some people who knows the IT - but they cant understand it either.
Have a nice trip - and hope to hear from you as soon as you got internet.
Best regards
Dolphin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Dolphin,

sorry - I'm still on the boat in Turkey. I'll be back in the first week of june.
Maybe we can talk on the phone ( or skype ) than. I guess I can not really help from here. I don't have a multiplexer here and the software is also not here.

Meanwhile - if you like.

- The multiplexer apparently it "alive". The processor is running and the hardware is receiving SeaTalk data. ( As we have seen from the $STALK sentences it sent ) THe USB port is up and running, but it does not send any converted SeaTalk data to the USB port.

My guess is, that some settings or filters totally got confused.
I have no idea how and why but it apparently does not send.

If you like - you could download the new firmware and configuration program H E R E

Unzip this in a subdirectory ( folder )
Start the the configuration program.
Go to "Device configuration" -> "Software update".
Here select the new .HEX and .EEP file and start the software update.

This will not only give you the latest software, it will so reset all the configuration settings to it's default values.

Thank you and
Best Regards

Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dolphin
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: May 10, 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWallenwein wrote:
Hello Dolphin,

sorry - I'm still on the boat in Turkey. I'll be back in the first week of june.
Maybe we can talk on the phone ( or skype ) than. I guess I can not really help from here. I don't have a multiplexer here and the software is also not here.

Meanwhile - if you like.

- The multiplexer apparently it "alive". The processor is running and the hardware is receiving SeaTalk data. ( As we have seen from the $STALK sentences it sent ) THe USB port is up and running, but it does not send any converted SeaTalk data to the USB port.

My guess is, that some settings or filters totally got confused.
I have no idea how and why but it apparently does not send.

If you like - you could download the new firmware and configuration program H E R E

Unzip this in a subdirectory ( folder )
Start the the configuration program.
Go to "Device configuration" -> "Software update".
Here select the new .HEX and .EEP file and start the software update.

This will not only give you the latest software, it will so reset all the configuration settings to it's default values.

Thank you and
Best Regards

Frank


Hi Frank
When we come to the boat in the weekend we vill try to downloade the new software, and then we vill get back to you when you come home. Enjoy your hollyday
Best regards
Dolphin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Dolphin,

any news ?


Regards
Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dolphin
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: May 10, 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWallenwein wrote:
Hi Dolphin,

any news ?


Regards
Frank


Hi Frank

I have now try to update the box - but no succes. When I do what you told me - the answer is - no response from device. First it tell me that the file is to large for update the device - and then - no response from device. Now i dont know what to do.
Best regards

Dolphin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FWallenwein
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Mannheim / Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Dolphin,
I just sent you a mail.

Regards Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    gadgetPool.de Forum Index -> Nmea Multiplexer with SeaTalk I/O All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.0.7 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.7 standalone was developed and tested by:
ChatServ, mikem,
and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.0.7 by Nuke Cops © 2004 http://www.nukecops.com
Forums ©




All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2006-2015 by gadgetPool.


PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Erstellung der Seite: 0.06 Sekunden